“Ah’m away fur a pee” 

I feel behind this week for a couple of reasons, one or two out of my control, but I’m trying to let it not be stressful and so far so good.

I did my job pretty well yesterday and that was rewarding despite the long day. An investigation came together around me in quite a short time and my decisions worked out well and there was a positive outcome with help from a very decisive supervisor. 

The job has made me think though; I believe the suspect (in a position of trust, so potentially viewed as extra bad) is guilty of an acquisitive crime against a man who is so well known and known to be a violent, nasty exploitative person. There was discussion in my team and the team I handed over to that we weren’t sure if we were disappointed that the job had all come together so well and yet, the victim is not someone who particularly needs or arguably deserves help. But I spoke to a wise man and he reminded me, “it’s not our job to judge”. We may suspect and we may believe and the basis for this needs to fit certain criteria in order to be processed fairly, but we are essentially gatherers and messengers. I said something like I hope we are all trying to be messengers of the truth. All be it seemingly unjust or undeserved. I believe in justice and fairness but I also believe in discretion. But I think my idea of equality trumps the disappointment we might feel in helping a man who seems to have done less than nothing to help anybody else in his life. 

Anyway, I’ve got the flat to myself and have spent a little while today listening to the intriguing Elon Musk and Serena Williams and the last in the wonderful Crimetown. 

Later in the week I’m hoping there’ll be time to think and write a bit about some more pressing issues to me than the fact I have no time and have listened to a handful of podcasts. I’m formulating and trying to tie down some opinions. 

